• Holly Gage

Secrets of Creating A 2-Sided Pendant by Holly Gage

Today's BLOG is really a VLOG as I have been documenting many of the steps in video format for my latest obsession, creating pendants with 2-sided Opals from my husband, Chris. I have to admit Opals were an obsession before he started cutting them and watching him cut them in our own jewelry studio is a bit magical as they go from rough rock to shimmery miniature abstract scenes and small works of art. The vibe is really great here! However as a student put it, I'm like a shoemaker's wife without any shoes, I only get an Opal here and there to keep me quiet or happy, I'm not sure which. But recently, he's custom cut a couple just for me, hehe, I'm in heaven. The 2-sided Opal pendant I've documented has extraordinary challenges requiring clever design solutions, fire-in-place sapphires, man-made bezel cups altered to function as a stepped bezel, double firings to avoid distortion, innovative tool hacks, and professional finishing in tight situations. That's a lot of juicy information right there broken down into 3 videos. If you follow me on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter, I've shared parts 1 and 2, so I have listed the videos from the newest video to the oldest in reverse order. And if you like what you have learned here, join me for even more skills in my two upcoming Design Classes and Romancing the Stone Class all live, interactive and online, to make your own designs and gorgeous 2-sided pendant.


PART 3

Secret Stepped Bezel and Polishing Tricks

I show you how you can create a stepped bezel cup without stepped bezel wire, create your own small burnisher, and learn to polish even the tiniest bezels for a professional finish.


PART 2

A 2-part Metal Clay Firing Can Help Avoid Distortion

I talk about secret tricks for avoiding distortion due to shrinkage when working with Metal Clay and manmade bezel cups or bezel wire.

PART 1

Jewelry Design: Evolving Your Ideas

I discuss a great method of evolving your Metal Clay and Jewelry ideas in order to avoid a creative block. I talk about inspiration, balance, and design motivation for stretching the imagination.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Live, Interactive Online Classes with Holly Gage

You'll love the creative energy and connectivity of a small group class, where we learn, laugh, and have fun. To register for any class, click on the class name or go to: HTTP://www.HollyGage.com/classes


Romancing the Stone: Reverse Bezel Setting - 1 Spot Left

Wednesday, November 25, 2020 - January 6, 2021 (skipping Dec. 23, 30)

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm EST 11:00 pm GMT, 5:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm MST, 3:00 pm PST

(5) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting Romancing the Stone: Reverse Stone Setting - New

Wednesday, January 13 -February 10, 2021

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm EST 11:00 pm GMT, 5:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm MST, 3:00 pm PST

(5) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting _______________________________________________________________

Nefertem Perfume Bottle: God of Perfume Master Class
 - New

Tuesday, December 8, 2020 - January 12, 2021 (skip Dec 29)

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm EST

11:00 pm GMT, 5:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm MST, 3:00 pm PST

(5) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting

Nefertem Perfume Bottle: God of Perfume Master Class 
 - 1 Spot Left Tuesday, February 16 - March 16, 2021
 11:00 am - 12:00 pm EST
4:00 pm GMT, 10:00 pm CST, 9:00 am MST, 8:00 am, PST
(5) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting
 _______________________________________________________________

Whimsical Critters Master Class - 2 Spots Left (must register by Dec 9 for kit delivery)

Mondays, January 11 - March 8, 2021 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST 
12:00 pm CST, 11:00 am MST, 10:00 am PST
 (8) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting



_______________________________________________________________

Designing with Intention - 3 Spots Left

Thursday, January 14 - March 18, 2021

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm EST 12:00 pm CST, 11:00 am MST, 10:00 am PST


(10) week group sessions • 90 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting

_______________________________________________________________

The Art of Designing A Signature Jewelry Line - New

Tuesdays, January 19 - March 30, 2021

6:00 PM- 7:30 PM EST

11:00 pm GMT, 5:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm MST, 3:00 pm PST

(10) week group sessions • 90 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting _______________________________________________________________


Bezel Setting Like A Pro - New

Wednesday, February 17 - March 10, 2021

6:00 PM- 7:00 PM EST

11:00 pm GMT, 5:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm MST, 3:00 pm PST

(4) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting

_______________________________________________________________


Carving and Sculpting in Metal Clay - New

Mondays, March 15 -April 19, 2021

1:00 am - 2:00 PM EDT

12:00 pm CDT, 11:00 am MDT, 10:00 am PDT

(6) week group sessions • 60 min. Live & Interactive on Go to Meeting


• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • 

Looking for the perfect 2-sided Opal?

Chris knows what you want and he knows how to cut them.

He will have all new stones this week, so stop by for his Friday Auction 1o Opals from 10 AM - 10 PM EDT on Christopher Gage's Facebook Page


Sign up to receive  tech blogs, newsletters, and class updates 

  • facebook
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

To contact Holly
hgage1@ptd.net
Lancaster, PA USA
717-445-5755

© 2021 Gage Designs. All rights reserved. This site and all jewelry designs, artwork, and information are protected under copyright law. Reproduction in whole or part are prohibited.